Executive Board


Zoe Proegler | Co-President

Zoe is a junior hailing from Chelsea, Michigan. She studies anthropology and political science with a focus on international justice in development. She has recently returned from a semester abroad in London, where the charged rhetoric surrounding refugee resettlement leading up to the Brexit vote inspired her to seek opportunities here in Michigan to advocate for refugees and immigrants. 



Andrea Gillespie | Vice President, External Affairs

Andrea is a Masters of Public Policy candidate, focusing in refugee and forced displacement studies, and completed her undergraduate degree at the University of Michigan as well. A former Fulbright Student in Turkey during 2015, she has also worked at numerous refugee resettlement organizations over the past four years, including those in Southeastern Michigan, and has engaged in refugee protection advocacy at refugee rights organizations in Washington, DC.


Maya Dalack | Vice President, Internal Affairs

Maya is a senior from Ann Arbor, Michigan. She studies Biopsychology, Cognition, and Neuroscience, with a minor in Arab and Muslim American Studies. As an Arab American, who has interacted with the refugee population in Lebanon, she was motivated to get involved with refugee resettlement and advocacy at home.


Taim Al Jarrah | Volunteer Coordinator

Maggie Rapai | Co-President

Maggie is a junior majoring in International Studies with a focus on global health. She spent the summer working with refugees from Syria, Afghanistan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and the Ivory Coast resettled in metro-Detroit. 



Molly McInerney | Vice President, External Affairs


Alyiah Al Bonijim | Volunteer Coordinator


Committee Chairs

Education/Advocacy Chairs From Left to Right: Andrea Gillespie (amgille@umich.edu), Riyah Basha (rbasha@umich.edu), Courtney Caulkins (caulkcou@umich.edu), Bianca Winward (bwinward@umich.edu)    


Alyiah Al-Bonijim (alyiaha@umich.edu), In-Kind Volunteer Director


Community Outreach Chairs: Leila Eter (leter@umich.ed), Molly McInerny (Not Pictured)


Fundraising Chairs From Left to Right: Meredith Joseph (mljos@umich.edu), Nadine Tayeb (ntayeb@umich.edu)